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HEALTH ADVISORY: DSHS adopts new blood lead reference
value of 3.5 nug/dL

Summary

As of January 1, 2023, the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) uses
a 3.5 ug/dL blood lead reference value (BLRV) to identify children who should
receive medical and public health follow-up. DSHS encourages all health care
providers to report all blood lead levels in children to DSHS as required and to
follow the updated Reference for Blood Lead Retesting and Medical Case
Management, Pb-109 form, which provides follow-up guidance for blood lead levels
at 3.5 ug/dL and above.

Background

Lead exposure can have serious consequences for children's health. There is no
known safe blood lead concentration; even blood lead levels as low as 3.5 ug/dL
may be associated with decreased intelligence in children, behavioral difficulties,
and learning problems. As lead exposure increases, the range and severity of
symptoms and effects also increases.

BLRV is a screening tool to identify children who have higher blood levels compared
to most children. The change will identify more children with lead exposure so that
parents and doctors can take action early to mitigate the effects of lead. The
change also aligns with national standards.

Texas law requires reporting of all blood lead tests (with any result) for children
younger than 15 years of age. Physicians, laboratories, hospitals, clinics, and other
healthcare facilities must report all blood lead tests to the DSHS Texas Childhood
Lead Poisoning Prevention Program (TXCLPPP). In turn, TXCLPPP notifies providers
and parents/guardians about children with blood lead levels of 3.5 ug/dL or greater.
The program also conducts environmental lead investigations for those children who
qualify.

Recommendations

o Healthcare providers should use the updated BLRV of 3.5 ug/dL, instead of
the previous 5 pg/dL in case management and refer to the Reference for
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https://www.dshs.texas.gov/sites/default/files/CHI-BloodLead/pb_109_update_Jan2023.pdf
https://www.dshs.texas.gov/sites/default/files/CHI-BloodLead/pb_109_update_Jan2023.pdf
https://www.dshs.texas.gov/blood-lead-surveillance-group/for-providers/follow-up-case-coordination
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Blood Lead Retesting and Medical Case Management, Pb-109 form, which has
been updated to reflect current guidance for appropriate follow-up actions.

o Health care providers should refer to the Childhood Blood Lead Screening
Guidelines, PB-120, for recommended blood lead testing for children, which
includes testing of all Medicaid-enrolled children at ages 12 and 24 months, or
at ages 24-72 months if not previously tested.

o Health care providers should report all blood lead test results, including
complete demographic, testing, and provider information, as required by law.
Reporting can be done electronically or by fax.

Resources

e DSHS Blood Lead Surveillance Branch: https://www.dshs.texas.gov/blood-
lead-surveillance-group

e CDC's Blood Lead Reference Value:
https://www.cdc.gov/nceh/lead/data/blood-lead-reference-value.htm

e CDC'’s Lead Poisoning Prevention:
https://www.cdc.gov/nceh/lead/prevention/default.htm

Contact Information

For questions about this health advisory, please contact:
DSHS Blood Lead Surveillance Branch
512-776-7151
texasbloodlead@dshs.texas.gov



https://www.dshs.texas.gov/sites/default/files/CHI-BloodLead/pb_109_update_Jan2023.pdf
https://www.dshs.texas.gov/sites/default/files/lead/pdf_files/child_screening_2019_revised-june-20.pdf
https://www.dshs.texas.gov/blood-lead-surveillance-group/for-providers/reporting-blood-lead-test

