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DRIVING SAFETY COURSE INSTRUCTIONS 
 

Please carefully read and follow the instructions contained in this document before proceeding further. 
 

Your traffic ticket will be dismissed upon successful completion of a Driving Safety Course.  You have 90 days 
from the date of your online plea in which to provide the court with the required paperwork.  No additional 
time to complete the requirements will be granted by the Court.  If you have any questions about what is 
required of you, you may contact the court at (806) 378-3082. If you fail to comply with the conditions set 
out below, then at the conclusion of the 90-day period you will be summoned to appear in court to show 
cause as to why you have not completed the Driving Safety Course requirements.  Failure to comply with 
the conditions set out below will result in a conviction, and you will then be required to pay the applicable 
fine.  Failure to pay the applicable fine will result in a warrant for your arrest. 
 

A Driving Safety Course may not be taken for dismissal of your ticket if at the time of the violation you did 
not have a valid Texas driver’s license and valid proof of financial responsibility (insurance.) In addition, the 
following violations are not eligible for online dismissal by taking a Driving Safety Course:  
 

• speeding 25 m.p.h. or more over the posted limit or in excess of 95 m.p.h.; 

• offenses committed in a construction work maintenance zone when workers are present; 

• passing a school bus; 

• a violation under state law for leaving the scene of an accident; 

• any traffic violation if you hold a Commercial Driver’s License, or held one on the date of the violation.   

• any traffic violation if you have taken a Driving Safety Course for dismissal of a moving violation within 
the twelve months before the date of the current violation. 

• multiple moving violations from the same incident; only one violation may be dismissed. 

• any traffic violation if you hold a Provisional Driver’s license. You must appear in person and see a Judge 
to request the Driving Safety Course if you hold a Provisional Driver’s License. 

 

After you have entered your plea and paid online, you must do the following: 
 

1. Obtain a Type 3A certified copy of your driving record.  A fee of $10 (money order or cashier’s check) 
and the completed “APPLICATION FOR COPY OF DRIVING RECORD” must be sent to the Texas 
Department of Public Safety to obtain a copy of your driving record.  You may also obtain your driving 
record online at www.texas.gov.  The Court cannot dismiss your ticket without the Type 3A certified 
copy of your driving record.  NOTE:  The Court will not accept the Driving Safety Course if your driving 
record shows you have taken a course within the twelve (12) months before the date of the current 
violation. 

2. Complete the Driving Safety Course, pass the test and obtain the Course Completion Certificate.  Only 
courses approved by the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation may be taken. 

3. Fill out the Affidavit stating that you have not taken a Driving Safety Course for a moving violation 
within the twelve months before the date of the current violation, and have the Affidavit notarized.   

 
You must provide the following FIVE (5) items to the Court within 90 days of entering your plea online in 
order to have your citation dismissed.  Failure to return these items to the Court will result in a conviction. 
 

1. Proof of Financial Responsibility (insurance) valid on the date and time of the violation. 
2. A legible copy of your valid Texas driver’s license. 
3. The original Driving Safety Course Completion Certificate, Court copy (not the insurance copy).  You 

must sign your certificate. 
4. The certified copy of your Driving Record received from the Texas Department of Public Safety.   
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5. The notarized Affidavit stating you have not taken a Driving Safety Course for a moving violation within 
the twelve months before the date of the current offense.   

 

You may either email these documents to citycourt@amarillo.gov, mail these items to: Municipal Court, P.O. 
Box 1366, Amarillo, Texas 79105, or bring them in person to the cashier window at the Municipal Court 
located at 201 S.E 4th Ave, Amarillo, Texas. Office hours are available on the website at amarillo.gov/court. 
There is a night deposit box for your convenience. The Court assumes no responsibility for delayed, lost, 
misdirected, incomplete, or postage-due mail. 
 

DSC COURSE INFORMATION 
 

It is your responsibility to make the necessary arrangements to enroll in and attend an approved Driving 
Safety Course.  The City of Amarillo does not make any recommendations with regard to where you take the 
course as long as the course is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).  To 
assist you in making the necessary arrangements to take the course, we offer the following information on 
courses taught within the local area. 
 

A.  Internet Course with Electronic Court Filing 
  https://comedydefensivedriving.com/ 
 www.comedydriving.com 

https://comedysafedriver.com/ 
www.expresslanedefensivedriving.com 

  
B. Standard Internet Courses 
 www.actx.edu/intervention  
 

For a list of TDLR approved courses, go online to: 
https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/DESSearch  
 

C.  Classroom Courses 
Amarillo College (Photo ID and court name as appears on citation required) 
Go online or call for class information 
www.actx.edu/intervention   
806-371-5000 
 

Comedy Defensive Driving School (Driver’s License not required. No age limit) 
806-359-3432 for class information and directions. 
Also available in Lubbock 806-785-5200 

 

Roadrunner Driving School (Driver’s License not required. Must be at least 15 years of age) 
3440 Bell, Suite 318 
Amarillo, TX   79109 
806-356-0800  

   
D. Texas Seat Belt Course 

For a list of TDLR approved courses, go online to: 
https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/DESSearch/results/getdrivingsafety?ClassType=  

  
Texas Online Driving Record 
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