Boards & Commissions

Center City Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone #1 Board

Administered by the Planning Department; ten voting members consisting of three appointees each made by the City of Amarillo and Potter County, one appointee each made by Amarillo College, Amarillo Independent School District, and the Panhandle Groundwater Conversation District; meets the second Thursday of each month in City Hall, 509 East 7th Avenue, 3rd floor, Room 306. The terms of appointment are two years and the City Commission appoints the Chair annually.

The TIRZ Board was created by Ordinance #7012 in December 2006 to make recommendations to the City Commission concerning the administrations, management and operation of the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone (Zone). The Board must adopt a project plan and reinvestment zone financing plan for approval by the City Commission. The TIRZ is a valuable tool for local government to enter into public/private partnerships to facilitate implementation of the vision and goals for downtown Amarillo. The Board may perform all duties imposed upon it by Chapter 311 of the Texas Tax Code and all other applicable laws with the exception of issuance of bonds, imposition of taxes or fees, exercise of eminent domain or final approval of the project plan or financing plan.
2009-2010 TIRZ Annual Report
Final Downtown Strategic Action Plan
Final Project and Financing Plan

Agenda (file size: 94 KB) - March 09, 2017Minutes (file size: 445 KB) - March 09, 2017
Agenda (file size: 81 KB) - May 18, 2017Minutes (file size: 430 KB) - May 18, 2017
Agenda (file size: 53 KB) - June 21, 2017Minutes (file size: 15 KB) - June 21, 2017
Agenda (file size: 30 KB) - August 15, 2017Minutes (file size: 15 KB) - August 15, 2017
Agenda (file size: 66 KB) - August 17, 2017

View Agendas / Minutes by Year: